NOVA Math Faculty Attend VMATYC Conference

Math faculty from Virginia’s two-year colleges met at John Tyler Community College for the Virginia Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges (VMATYC) Fall 2019 Conference. NOVA attendees included math faculty and staff: Martin Bredeck (AN math faculty), Ricardo Donato (AL math lab staff), Beverlee Drucker (WO math faculty), Essma Haddam (AL math faculty), Inyang Inyang (MA math faculty), Alex Krantsberg (AL math faculty), Karen Lesser (AN math faculty), Tim Seaman (WO math faculty), Shakil Shrestha (MA math faculty), Tatyana Sullivan (WO math faculty), Alison Thimblin (WO, Dean of Computer Science and Mathematics), Snejana Topalova (AL math faculty), Jeff Vetrano (LO Associate Dean), and Bruce Wahl (AL math faculty, VMATYC President).

The conference focused on improving student success in math and the direct enrollment pilot. Faculty presented and attended sessions on direct enrollment, co-requisite courses, quantitative reasoning, technology, OER, and more. Eight VCCS colleges are preparing for the direct enrollment pilot and shared their knowledge and experience.

Keynote speaker, Dr. John Adams of Old Dominion University, engaged the audience with an exciting presentation on patterns in nature.

 A student from Blue Ridge Community College and a student from Tidewater Community College received The VMATYC Glenn Fox memorial Mathematics and Computer Science Scholarship.

NOVA is part of the VMATYC Northern Region. The outgoing Vice President of the Northern Region is Victoria Lu Vetrano. Matthew Westerhoff, a math faculty member at the Manassas Campus, will serve as the new VP starting in January. The spring meeting for the northern region will take place in March. Math faculty are encouraged to get involved with VMATYC. To learn more, go to

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *